Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

In this contemporary epoch, it is believed by many that, the importance of books as a mode of information and entertainment is declining. I partially agree with this statement because of the advancements in technology, interest in book reading is fading. However, it plays a crucial role in learning for the underprivileged areas of the world where the technology like internet and electricity are not available. The below essay will highlight these views in detail and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion. To begin with, it is an undeniable fact that due to the advances in digitalization, the requirement for books is fading. This is because, people are able to get the required information directly from websites or other web platforms, instead of referencing a book. For instance, research scholars, nowadays, gather information from websites and other social networking sites and do not prefer to visit a library, in such a way, it saves their time as well. Additionally, as digital data provides strong audio-visual effects, it engages the users more effectively. On the other hand, the importance of books cannot be neglected in underprivileged areas, where technology is still lacking behind. To exemplify, students in rural areas, still rely on books to be informed and updated about current affairs because the electricity and Internet are not provisioned yet in such areas. Moreover, books omit the chances of fake information as compared to online data as the data printed is generally published after validating the credentials and authenticity of the materials, and then published in books. Hence, books ensure the authenticity of data, and irrespective of technological developments, the future of books is bright and shiny. To recapitulate, undoubtedly, technology has changed our ways to be informed and entertained as compared to the past, where books were the major source of providing information. However, In my opinion, I partially agree with this argument, as they are still considered a valuable source in underdeveloped and developing countries. Also, published books tend to provide more authentic and accurate data as compared to online data.