Success is often measured in wealth and material belongings. Do you think wealth is the best measure for success? What makes a person successful?

What stands out while gauging success is the amount of money and material possessions. However, I am convinced that affluence is not a reliable barometer of success and a sense of satisfaction along with self-consciousness are of greater importance from my standpoint. There are two main reasons why the concept of success cannot be measured by opulence. To begin with, wealth can be obtained effortlessly. To put it another way, if money is not reaped of hard work, people from high social strata should no longer be admired. Take well-off families who have bequeathed their inheritance to the next generation as an example; their familial financial wealth does not give their children’s success a seal of approval. Secondly, hardly can anyone deny the fact that some massive achievements in life yield a high level of return either too late or never, namely artists and scientists in the history of mankind. Nevertheless, people can achieve success by deriving great satisfaction as well as introspection. As for contentment, ones, irrespective of their financial status, can flourish, provided that they acquire expertise useful. People can hone skills giving them a competitive edge either in academic or professional fields. A lucid example of this is getting a job they have always dreamed of, thereby finding deep contentment in their life. People, moreover, can obtain a better understanding of both themselves and the essence of life by working on their inner feelings, despite the whole world propelling them towards material success, which is nothing but a shallow perception. To sum up, a person’s success seems to have no correlation with luxury items or plenty of money. Meanwhile, I strongly believe that those having a great understanding of who they are and trying to gain more satisfaction in their life are the true successful people.