There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that governments are the only figures capable of addressing the accommodation shortage in cities and alleviating dire social consequences because of it. In this essay, I will argue that tackling this massive socioeconomic problem requires a significant power at the size of government powers as the authorities have the power of legislation to coordinate these projects as well as unlimited financial resources compared to the private sector. One of the reasons for agreeing with the issue of housing shortage being merely solvable by the political authorities is that they have the power of placing executive orders to benefit their attempts. No private sector has this advantage to compete with them; resulting in being the only force capable of handling hindered issues like metropolitan accommodation. For instance, they could allocate a budget from other sectors like the oil industry to spend on housing projects or simply raise taxes in order to gain more money. By contrast, the private sector lacks such abilities to manage projects to the extent of tackling metropolis housing issues. Moreover, in spite of being cautious about spending their belongings, governments have unlimited resources of income to allocate budgets for possible projects. They have annual income along the lines of trillions of dollars, particularly in developed countries, from sources like tax, natural resources such as fossil fuels, etc., to plan any construction without being wary of their finances running out. The United States, for example, spends more than 5 trillion dollars every year in different schemes to improve their citizen's life. Hence, governments often have large budgets to finance different programs every year. In conclusion, I would argue that states are the sole figures capable of resolving the shortage of housing in big cities on the grounds that they not only have the power of imposing laws and giving orders for their desired objectives but also their number of resources make them the only viable option for significant projects like housing.