Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

In contemporary society, the number of people who spend their leisure time shopping is increasing, while some argue that this trend can affect people in both advantageous and disadvantageous ways. The reasons behind this phenomenon will be discussed in the following essay along with the effects of it on both individual and social perspectives. There are many factors that result in the popularity of shopping, and the major one is that this activity can provide a perfect social atmosphere for the general public. That is because during the process of shopping, it is natural for people to talk about the clothes they try, the decoration styles of shops, and price changes of the brands they love, thereby, people can never feel awkward because of losing topics when shopping. In addition, they can find their similar aesthetic preferences about clothes in this procedure, leading to a deeper understanding and a fostered connection with their friends. For example, Maci, the largest shopping centre in Boston, is full of shoppers who see shopping as their best way to relax and get along with close friends, according to recent research by Harvard. The increasing popularity of shopping can have effects on individuals and society as a whole. On an individual level, people can get sufficient exercise at the time of shopping, because people believe the comparison is the key factor to find their favourite clothes, and this requires a long distance walk in most cases, which could be undoubtfully beneficial to people who have to sit for an extended period of time in working days. On the other hand, this trend can also benefit the whole society because it can promote businesses. With more people willing to shop, entrepreneurs can sell their products at a quicker speed, leading to less storage and a larger amount of cash flow in their accounts. Therefore, they can afford to invest in the development of new products and machines, resulting in a prosperous economy in the entire country. In conclusion, there is an increasing number of people who take shopping as their favourite leisure activity because they can talk with friends and foster their connections in this progress, and this trend can be both advantageous to individuals by allowing for enough exercise and becoming healthier, and to the society as a whole by promoting the economy.