In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

For a long time, society views hard work as a prime determination in achieving success. In this following essay, I will discuss thoroughly the positive and negative impacts and provide some evidence of this behaviour towards children. First and foremost, promoting hard work can be advantageous for young people in some ways. Maximizing effort is essential to sharpening persistent and resilient skills. With these skills, children are able to adapt to difficult situations and find the solution to solve the issues that may occur. For instance, in order to achieve straight A’s, students must prioritize and be willing to commit to homework, long-hour mentoring sessions, and practice with various kinds of tests with different levels of difficulty. However, hard work must be done with consistency. Hence, by combining these two attitudes, children will perform much better and leading to higher chances of success. On the other hand, hard work may bring an unpleasant impact on children. A long-haul discipline without any rest may cause burnout and disrupt the mental health condition. For example, if we force children to study without any rest or day off, success is not something that is close to achieving, instead they will get stressed which even leads to depression. To ease some pressures, it is important for children to have some personal traits, such as holidays or going out with friends. Furthermore, aside from taking some time off, setting goals and purposes may also help young people to map out their effort and know what to achieve. To conclude, indeed hard work motivates children in achieving their goals and dreams. However, it is also important to note, a hard effort may bring pressure which leads to harmful impacts. Hence, setting clear goals and having some time off may balance the negative impact of hard work.