Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways for reducing crime. Discuss both views.

Currently, the society we live in is struggling with a great number of issues, one of them being the continuous rise of the crime rate. Because of this, people often wonder whether they ought to make a change in the system. While many believe that extending the prison sentences will be the best way to guarantee a safe environment, others claim that there are much better courses of action. Undoubtedly, increasing the imprisonment time for criminals is beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, by doing so, we protect the public by ensuring these individuals cannot commit any further offences. One of the most fundamental concepts in the criminal justice system is that of recidivism, which implies a formally incarcerated person’s relapse into criminal behavior. The rates vary from crime to crime, but the sad truth is that numerous murderers who were released from jail turned around and committed crimes while being on parole. As an example may serve the case that took place in England some years ago, where Andrew Dawson, a killer from Derby, who originally went to prison for taking the life of a 91-year-old man was given a chance to turn his life around in 2001. Instead, Dawson stabbed two men to death in their respective apartments and left their bodies to be later found by the authorities. On the other hand, some people argue that there are other favorable ways for the criminal activity to be minimized, as they believe that being in the penitentiary environment for a long period of time might transform the inmate into a product of the prison cycle that refuses to allow ex-convicts to escape the crime and drug abuse they are stuck in. One widely held opinion is that undertaking preventive measures is significantly more effective in reducing crime. Thus, one of the best approaches anyone can take is to educate the new generation. Education is the only way out of ignorance. As per different studies, it is clear that countries with lower literacy rates have higher crime rates. Therefore, educating young members of the community to develop a vision of peace and harmony is a necessity. Another approach governments can take is to introduce strict drug control rules and establish more rehabilitation centers. It is generally agreed that most of the criminals are addicts. This means that drugs are a potential factor in converting citizens into lawbreakers. These types of illegal substances do not come at low prices, and drug users need quick money to keep consuming them. Consequently, crime is one of the options addicts use to earn money fast. The potential of drugs in leading people towards crime is enormous so it is vital to take steps to control drug abuse. To conclude with, it is clear that important things can be done by the governments and social structures in order to lower the crime rate, and a part of their deeds should involve spreading awareness. Moreover, it is true to say that both, giving longer prison sentences and resorting to other options each has their own unique advantages.