Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to gibe longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views

Today It is impossible to imagine modern life in peace. Although the government does everything for level of crime diminishing, it still continues to be a huge problem in society, that makes inhabitants think about this issue. While the majority believe that prolongation of prison sentences is the best route to eradicate criminality, others argue that there are more effective ways to provide unassailable world. The extension of imprisonments is beneficial for several reasons. To begin with, long prison sentences can cut down crimes in psychological way. In other words, prisoners who experienced long-term confinement face with difficulties in returning to ordinary life. Usually, this kind of people are not accepted by society, what makes them think twice before committing the crime again. Moreover, long stay in a prison will stop a person committing the crime, what can be useful in reducing crime rates. On the other hand, someone consider that prison sentences are not so effective, arguing that prisoners live at the expense of the state, having appropriate life conditions, for example three meals per day, shower and furthermore, criminals are able to get a job with salaries. Thus, inhabitants offer other ways to reduce criminality, such as free community work and for strict crimes death penalty. People explain that free community work might be helpful for criminals to save their humanity by involving them in a society, instead of interacting with other criminals in prison. With all that being said, it is possible to say, that both prolongation prison sentences and integration new ways for reducing crimes each has own advantages.