The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

These days, the percentage of individuals who are at risk of debilitating health issues owing to being overweight is increasing. This is mainly because fast food outlets are ubiquitous nowadays and our lifestyle has become far too sedentary. There are a number of solutions that should be implemented to deal with people who are overweight. Firstly, the main reason why people are obese is due to the consumption of unhealthy food. In other words, some people prefer to eat fast food because they can find many fast food restaurants easily. Moreover, food advertising from these types of restaurants often encourages people to buy sugary drinks, high-fat snacks, and other unhealthy foods. Secondly, people these days have a sedentary lifestyle owing to their hectic schedules. As a result, many of them cannot burn their calories through physical activities. There are two effective solutions to the problem of being overweight. One way to tackle this is to ensure fast food restaurants could easily offer healthy alternatives. Moreover, food advertising which emphasizes unhealthy meals should be tightly controlled or banned altogether. Another method of dealing with this dilemma is to have an active lifestyle. That is to say, people have to take up an outdoor sport or physical activity, namely gardening or walking which can compensate for a sedentary lifestyle. This solution would hopefully prevent them from being overweight because they are being so healthy lifestyle in society. In conclusion, having healthy meal options and doing regular exercise are effective solutions to the issue of being obese. If everyone implemented these solutions, the rate of overweight people would soon drop.