Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to gibe longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views

When the problem of high crime rates is brought up, people typically tend to separate into two categories: those who believe increasing the length of prison sentences is an effective solution, and those who would rather consider alternative ways, possibly more beneficial towards individuals. Generally, prolongation of prison sentences is considered first when it comes to the discussion of ways to decrease crime rates. One of the reasons for that is the fact that it is the most simple possible solution for the problem: it doesn’t need to be well thought out, it is easy to implement and seems effective at first glance. The way it is argued to be so is that it acts as a strong deterrent of crime. However, decades of research from Canada, the United States of America, the United Kingdom and Australia have shown that longer prison sentences do not reduce crime. Apart from not doing their intended purpose, extended prison sentences also have a major drawback: they hurt individuals who committed crimes. Lengthening the sentence will only prolong the suffering of those in prisons, while providing no benefit for the society as a whole. On the other hand, specialists all around the globe tend to come up with numerous alternative approaches to tackle this complex problem. Instead of punishing criminals post factum, they suggest effective measures of crime prevention, such as increased surveillance, which acts as a deterrent of crime. For example, a thief might refuse to commit a crime, if he knows that he will likely be caught in the act. The methods can include things as simple as just not leaving a ladder in your garden, so that an inexperienced criminal can not physically enter your home through a window on the second floor. To conclude with, though increasing prison sentences is often considered a solution for the problem of high crime rates, it proves to be far less effective than even the simplest methods of crime prevention.