In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views on the ageing population, which has been discussed for decades. While there are some positive effects of the increasing number of elderly people, I do believe that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, having a large proportion of elderly in society has many advantages. First, it can improve the social stability. For example, large number of elderly citizens means lower crime rate. This kind of people do not be equipped with the energy and motivation to commit a crime for they have low quantity of physical fitness. As a result, social security would be effectively improved and the living standard of residents would be increased to some extent. Secondly, the elders may largely equipped with high level of skills in production, this knowledgeable and skillless labourforce will training their next generations.The quality of education will be increased If the literacy of people has been improved, they would have more chance to go to university to study cutting-edge technology,which can largely rise labor productivity and definitely boast up the GDP on their country. Nevertheless, aging population will cause some social problems. To begin with, the budget of governments will become deficit while the population of elderly increasing. Not only do the states have to pay a large amount of money for pensions, but also lose the subsidies, which originally used to improve education and other public welfare. In addition, youngsters will shoulder a high level of taxes since the authorities rise the percentage of taxes to pay increasing pensions funds. Therefore, the disposal money of young individuals will be decreased. For instance, when youths have to pay various of loans and heavy taxes, the living standard of them will absolutely decline. Therefore, they will not tend to bring up children, then decreasing birth rate will deteriorate the aging population. Last but not least, the labor quality and quantity will drop dramatically. In the case elders do not have such longer working hours and motivation for promotion as young individuals. Hence, the productivity will undoubtedly fall coming with an economic recession. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why individuals supports population aging, but I would argue that there are more drawbacks than benefits. In my opinion, governments should shoulder the responsibility to mitigate this adverse phenomenon.