Do you think that an ageing society will disappear? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more old people in society?

Many developed countries, for example, Japan, South Korea, the US etc. are experiencing the progress of turning into an aging society. The trend is likely unavoidable. There are both upsides and downsides of an aging society from the economic and social perspectives. It is crucial for the whole society to adapt to the change. A growing aging population can be beneficial to the economy in the short run. Countries with a high number of elderly people often have well-developed public healthcare systems and retirement protection. These elderly people are often wealthy and educated, and they may be able to defer retirement if they are in good health. This can lead to an increase in the workforce. For example, in recent years, the retirement age in Hong Kong has been extended from 60 to 65. Moreover, the aging population has led to the rise of elderly industries, such as advanced medical care, travel, and leisure activities. For example, there are travel packages and cruise tours that are specifically designed for the needs of elderly people. This sector has the potential to grow significantly in the future. On the other hand, an increasing number of older people has a negative impact on the financial burden of the government in the long run. Firstly, the pressure on different social welfare programs will become heavier. For example, the annual spending on elderly travel subsidies is already HKD 100 million, and it is expected to rise in the coming years. To make matters worse, it is difficult for the government to curb spending, which will arouse resentment among the aging population. In addition, the increasing number of retirees in society means that fewer people will pay taxes in the future. It is expected that government revenue will not be able to keep up with the rise in government recurrent expenditure on elderly welfare. This could lead to a financial deficit in the government budget. To conclude, the rising aging population has positive impacts on society in the short term, but negative impacts on the government in the long term. Better preparation and planning for retirement protection and healthcare are some of the possible solutions to mitigate the effects of an aging society.