In countries all over the world, the volume of road traffic is increasing at a faster rate than new roads are built. What are the causes of this problem? What are some potential solutions?

Trouble-free transportation ia a major concern for governments all over the globe. In spite of coming forward with new schemes for building more roads, the road traffic keeps rising hectically, which is a permanent cause of headache for authorities. This essay will discuss possible reasons for this and put forward several solutions for the issue. The predominant factor behind the problem is that 'owning a vehicle ' is no longer a distant dream for even daily wage workers because of the flexible pay-back plans provided by the manufacturers. For example,the EMI for a car starts even at 2000 per month, which everyone feels is affordable. Additionally, many people find it more convenient to have a private vehicle than opting to travel by public means of transport. Also. the strike of COVID pandemic triggered individuals to deny mass travel means and to shift to personal vehicle so as to eliminate the risk of being infected. Nevertheless, there are potential solutions that help to counteract the problem. Firstly, the government should adopt the latest technologies that enable road construction to be as quick as possible. Furthermore, while at the stage of planning for new roads, foresight should be given to accommodate more traffic volume than the considered design traffic. This can be made by leaving more spaces on both sides, constructing walkways etc which in future can easily be modified as needed. Other methods like increasing interest rates for vehicle loans, especially for two-wheelers, can also help. To conclude, certainly, expanding road traffic is an integral part of a developing country. Mainly this is due to the change in lifestyle of citizens. The most effective way of dealing with this phenomenon is by adopting a perspective approach while designing the roads and by including the latest technologies in the construction processes.