Nowadays, a lot of people are able to do their work from home. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

In recent times, many individuals are able to work from home. This is due to the advancement in technology, enabling multiple sectors to take advantage of this opportunity. I will discuss the potential advantages and disadvantages. One of the advantages would be that people would no longer need to commute to work. Therefore, this would reduce the cost of travel for the average person, especially to those who live a considerable distance from their office. For instance, an employee may have to drive an hour to work every day, whereas now they would just have to open their laptop from home. Moreover, they would be able to have the comfort of wearing more casual clothing as opposed to traditional formal wear. However, there are a few disadvantages. Being at home is a different environment than many workplaces. This means that, while being at home is comfortable, there are many distractions. Consequently, negatively affecting ones focus on their work. Additionally, there is less pressure to be on time as it only takes a few minutes to be online from home. Not to mention, proving your presence from home is a lot easier causing employees to potentially misuse this and avoid work. For example, an individual may move their mouse artificially so to everyone else it seems like they are working but they are actually not. In conclusion, working from home has its benefits but also has some drawbacks. Based on this, it may work better in certain sectors than in others. It is important that each company analyses their needs and decide accordingly whether it would be useful to implement this work style or not.