In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some societies, youngsters usually get advice from parents, teachers, or mentors that everything can be succeeded if their efforts are adequate. I believe giving adolescents this kind of motivational advice can boost their self-esteem to a higher level and feelings of hopelessness if they fail to accomplish objectives. Nevertheless, we need to balance it by not advising on unattainable goals. In some communities, guardians are used to giving condolence to their young ones when they feel low or score poor marks in the exam by assuring that If their efforts are sufficient enough, they can reach their goal. Giving this guidance often leads to an increase in the self-confidence of their adolescent. Children often lose their morale if they fail to fulfil their targets. At this point, supporting them with hopeful messages upscale their self-assurance. Moreover, This type of consolation motivates youngsters to attain their future goals. For instance, research in The United States of America depicts that adolescents feel supported and hopeful if their parents stay at their side when they feel incompetent. Therefore, It is evident that motivational advice from old ones keeps the self-esteem and motivational spirit of a teenager at a greater level. However, despite these edges giving teenagers this advice can cause some drawbacks as well. Youngsters might get disappointed if they fail after trying wholeheartedly. As a result, they feel depressed and get diverted from their aim. Furthermore, they also misvalued their efforts, having the perception that their efforts were not enough. For example, teenagers, when they fail at something, fear their parents might scold them for not trying harder and think they will never achieve their goals. These detrimental effects can prevent a child from shining their brightest. In conclusion, needless to say, providing advice of assurance has several advantages, such as a boost in confidence and a sense of motivation. However, we should be aware of the dark side of the advice. In my opinion, parents and teachers must give appropriate counselling to their adolescents rather than giving them hope for unreal achievements. Society needs to understand that every child is unique in their way.