Some people believe that the problem of illegal drugs can be solved by just legalising all drugs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

It's often argued by people that the problems caused by drugs can be solved by legalizing all drugs. Even though it would reduce crime dealing with drugs,I firmily believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On one hand, the significant reason why illegal drugs is becoming a major concern is due to the strict laws regarding availability of the drugs. If the government initiate a law that would allow people to acquire limited amount of drugs that would result in less crimes. Moreover it would reduce the quantity of drugs that are bought into the country illegally, For instance, majority of the people who cross border to another country are trying to bring drugs into the country, Once the drugs are available in their country, people will not try to cross the border which would reduce crimes drastically. On the other hand, the effect of drugs are unpredictable and it could cause a lot of harm to the society if it's easily available in the country. For example, young children in rural areas are addicted to smoking ganja, this is mainly because the government has permitted a limited amount to be given to the public. Even though the minimum age required to acquire drugs are above 18, young children find a way to get them and misuse it. Therefore it's not a good initiative to allow drugs as it would have a negative effect on the young population. In conclusion, government implementing laws that would allow people to buy drugs in the country would reduce crime and illegal drugs, however the effect it would have on the society would be severe, Therefore it is important for the authorities to not allow drugs at any cost and to have strict punishment that will prevent this from happening