Topic 9: In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people claim that in the future printed newspapers or books will be replaced by ebooks. Personally, I partly agree with this statement. To begin with, the online publication has many advantages. First of all, online reading materials are more affordable financially because they do not need paper, which is an expensive item. People can easily access the copy version of the book they want. Moreover, many people read online books because of their convenience. They are easily available and only need 1 electronic device such as a cellphone or laptop to store countless books. For example for its benefits, a Harry Potter book is sold in stores for more than 700,000 VND, while a copy of the book with similar content is sold online for only 60,000 VND. Despite the benefits mentioned above, there will still be many people using books or printed newspapers. Firstly, although it is easy to access, for some it is a problem. For the elderly, they update the news by reading newspapers, but accessing the web to read newspapers is a difficult problem. Secondly, there will always be people who prefer to buy printed newspapers and books as their hobby. Reading free articles on a screen is oftentimes a test of concentration due to the disturbance from constant pop-up advertisements or message notifications or just because their hobby is flipping the pages to read and enjoy the smell of books. In conclusion, I partly agree with the statement that people will no longer pay for printed newspapers and books.