Some people think that increasing the number of police officers on the street is the only effective way to reduce crime. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued by people, that the number of police officers working on the street is the only effective way to reduce crimes. I strongly believe this statement as the majority of the crimes happen on the street. Firstly, a huge number of crimes happen in the city, this is because of the lack of police officers, Offenders use this as an advantage and strike at innocent people, for instance, it's easy for a gold snatcher to snatch chains from the public if there is no officers to prevent this from happening, moreover it's not possible for one or two officers to prevent this from happening as they would be outnumbered by the lawbreakers. Secondly, more officers patrolling on the streets would have a significant decrease in crimes, additionally this would help people feel more comfortable at there cites and homes, moreover it's the responsibility of the government to ensure the safety of their people. In conclusion, there might be different ways to reduce crimes, however it would not benefit the people. therefore, I believe that the only necessary action needed to reduce crimes is by increasing police power on the streets.