Some people think that the government has the duty to ensure its citizens have a healthy diet, while others argue it is the responsibility of each individual. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is commonly considered that having a diet without macronutrients can have a detrimental impact on one's longevity. While government interventions can influence food supply and consumption on a large scale, others believe that a larger part of the responsibility belongs to individuals. This essay analyses both sides of the argument before my personal perspective is given. On the one hand, the government is in a position to ensure the residents’ accessibility to a healthy diet. Different from individuals, the authorities resume the power to enact regulations and food policies in order to promote proper eating habits on an extensive scale. To elaborate, the government can force manufacturers and restaurants to label transparency and impose taxes on sugary beverages and high-calorie foods. Thanks to such regulations, the government can discourage the proliferation of fast food and ensure an easier approach to nutritious options, leading to a gradual shift to healthier food. As an illustration, all food products in Japan describe the number of calories clearly for consumers to manage their intake of nutrients. On the other hand, others believe that it is individuals who are largely responsible for their own diet. To start with, people are the only ones who take control of their own bodies and lifestyles due to the fact that they thoroughly understand their current health status and their financial problems. By participating in nutrition education programs, for instance, individuals are helped to have a profound knowledge of portion control, which leads to a decline in chronic diseases due to obesity. Citizens, therefore, can recognize the consequences of their choices and behaviours, understanding that their intake directly impacts their well-being, thus shifting the focus from a passive mindset to an active one. In conclusion, considering both views, I am personally convinced that maintaining a balanced diet demands a combination of both governmental and personal efforts. Therefore, not only the authorities should enact food -related policies, but also citizens ought to be conscious of their meals as well as prioritize nutritious food to improve their health status.