Some people think the best way to protect the environment is to increase the price of petrol. Do you agree or disagree?

The issues related to the environment are becoming more and more imperative for human lives. In order to tackle these issue some people believe that authority should increase the cost of petrol. In my opinion, this solution can bring some advantages to environmental protection; however, there are other ways more effective could curb such issue. It is acknowledged that changing the cost of petrol can contribute to protecting the environment. This is because, owing to the expensive cost of petrol, those who often travel by vehicles powered by petrol which are the reason for increasing carbon emission, would tend to use other greener modes of transport such as trains and buses and can also shift from fossil fuels vehicles to electric vehicles. As a result, this solution can greatly curb individuals’ carbon footprint, thus making the environment more sustainable and liveable. However, this line of reasoning is not sound to other problems related to nature including deforestation or marine pollution and increasing the price of petrol even can have dire consequences on the production and economy. Due to this, I believe that there are more effective measures that individuals and governments can implement to mitigate the problem of the environment besides this solution. For example, because environmental degradation observed in most parts of the world is human-induced, governments should introduce and enforce stricter environmental/ impose stringent laws to ensure that individuals and businesses are pushed towards sustainability. At that time, individuals should enhance their awareness of the importance of local nature and also can boycott the organizations that harm the environment and support the eco-friendly businesses. This can push these companies towards the direction of sustainability. These actions are more meaningful and easily taken on local and international areas. In conclusion, increasing the bill of petrol is not the best way to resolve environmental problems because of some risks. Instead, other solutions to protect our world should be implemented by not only governments but also all populations in the world.