In Britain when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other people where the nurses look after them.sometimes the government has to pay for this care.who do you think should pay,the government or the family?

This practice of arranging old folks to stay in a welfare home and hiring nurses to take care of them has been in the British system for quite some time. I do agree that government do cover the expenses for senior citizens if they are unable to pay due to unforeseen circumstances. I would like to argue that both families and government hold the fair share of responsibilities to take care of the senior citizens. Firstly, we need to honor our old folks as they were the ones who form the backbone of our society. They toiled hard to build the nation and families so families should be responsible to cover the expenses of their old family member in welfare homes. For instance, in Singapore, families arrange for hospice to take care of their ailing old family members in case they are not able to support them at home. This will not lead the seniors in depression or sorrow. Arrangement of old folks home will assist the seniors to form close bonds with their age group and lead a healthy and ageing lifestyle. Secondly, government holds the highest form of responsibilities to protect and treasure its people and resources in the best interest. In that way, there might be families who are struggling with financial difficulties might not able to pay or cover their seniors’ expenses in welfare homes. By providing a subsidy or any financial aid, families ’ burden has been lessened and it does not deprive old folks’ good retirement years with their friends. In conclusion, its of a paramount importance for both government and families to provide stable financial support to the seniors in order for them to spend their lustre years in peace.