Entertainment such as electronic games on portal devices is harmful for individuals and the society they live in. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a belief to many that entertainment in the form of video games and social media is harmful to society and individuals. The reasons regarding this bold accusation are numerous, some of which are health-related. Society grows devoid of communities/friendships, and is rather made up of antisocial introverts with next to zero communication skills. I profoundly understand and agree with this statement, thus the following paragraphs will deeply explore it. To begin with, it is not far-fetched at all that social media detaches humans from reality. Scrolling for hours on end is everything but natural. Thereafter, the attention span is affected negatively, causing students difficulty when focusing on any given topic. Be that as it may, some cases are fine, one of which is spending quality time with your family by watching a film. Nonetheless, that does not excuse the overuse of electronics. E-games are known to be overstimulating, eventually making it hard for users to fulfill daily tasks in life due to their “boring nature”. What is more, is that dopamine is released in such immense quantities that actual beneficial activities such as reading books or playing sports grow underwhelming. On top of that, obesity is a likely destination for all couch potatoes that struggle to leave their rooms and touch grass, other than the fact that their friendships will gradually deteriorate. In spite of being aware of the side effects of using portable devices 24/7, people are rendered addicted to tapping on their screens endlessly. Subsequently, many health issues, whether mental or physical, are invited. As previously stated, becoming overweight is a likely risk. Moreover, eye strain is caused slowly but surely, especially to those already suffering vision issues. Not to mention, depression has already affected most teenagers of our generation for this particular reason. Young adults nowadays spend most of their time straddling their phones, whereas the past generations lived life the right way with their friends and families. All motivation drops once a human is held captive by a metal object, which does nothing but waste time. In conclusion, there are specific scenarios when switching on your phone is acceptable and harmless. However, 95% of the time it sucks the life out of humanity until we have no energy anymore. Therefore, my unwavering opinion is that limiting our screen time to a minimum is the best, as social media and video games are a waste of time.