In many developed and developing nation, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could help to tackle that issue.

In modern times, the global life expectancy is increasing year on year. While this does mean that healthcare worldwide is improving, a higher life expectancy can lead to some issues. I will be proposing some potential solutions. To begin with, the main problem that arises is overpopulation. This is because the birth rate becomes higher than the death rate as life expectancy increases. Therefore, overpopulation may lead to problems such as increased congestion and not having enough resources to support the country’s public. Moreover, over time, these smaller issues can lead to bigger ones, such as starvation. For instance, once the government only has crops for five million people and the population is ten million, there would be not enough food for everyone. There are limited ways in which this problem can be tackled. One way would be to have limits on the number of children each family can have. While this may be difficult to implement, the benefits can start to show within a couple of decades. Additionally, considering overpopulation cannot be resolved quickly, this is a relatively fast way to see results. For example, we can see evidence of this from China’s one child policy. Another way would be to start developing areas with more land, in other words, the more rural locations. In conclusion, we can only expect the average life expectancy to rise even further. Overpopulation is a problem in many countries and it is essential that as a society that we try and find solutions as soon as possible.