More and more people move from the countryside to big cities. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages to the environment

Urbanization has been accelerating in the past few decades, with increasing numbers of populations migrating from the countryside to the urban areas. However, this trend causes a series of problems that can not be ignored. To provide sufficient housing for residents, parks and green lands are replaced by residential buildings. When the open spaces in the urban areas could be used up, a common practice is to reclaim more land from the suburban area, which is considered an unsustainable way. The reduction of greenery coverage and the damage to the ecological environment are unavoidable as the limited resources cannot accommodate so many dwellers in metropolises. The large number of urban populations is also responsible for various kinds of pollution. Air pollution has become a big concern that plagues inhabitants and the main source of air pollutants is the growing number of private cars. Moreover, in order to create more jobs to meet the demand for employment, many factories are built inside or around there, and they emit waste gas into the atmosphere, pollute the water and soil surrounding there and create a lot of noise with their machinery. Some may argue that with immigrants moving from the countryside to cities, the rural areas can benefit in terms of the environment. However, these benefits are not comparable to the problems faced in metropolises. The vast space of the countryside has an advantage in cleansing the pollutants, and the pollution generated by its sparse population is much less than that in the densely-populated cities. Overall, in the process of urbanization, many environmental issues may occur and need to be dealt with in a proper manner.