In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

Festivals have been a predominant way to share happiness and joy with others. However, in this modern era, people from some countries are forgetting about their traditions and cultures. In the following paragraphs, causes and solutions will be discussed. To begin with, traditional festivals and celebrations play a crucial role in everyone's life. There are two primary reasons behind this phenomenon. Firstly, in earlier periods, people used to live in joint families and celebrated festivals together. However, in this contemporary era, individuals prefer to live in nuclear families and they are under a significant amount of work pressure. Secondly, due to the advancement of technology, rather than celebrating special events with their neighbours or close family members, people prefer connecting online to exchange wishes. Studies have shown that in India, there has been a significant increase in social media usage during festival days, with 70 per cent of the community now utilizing these platforms to send greetings to close relatives, compared to the past two decades. To tackle this issue, several measures can be implemented. First of all, society should come ahead to confront this problem. For instance, in lieu of sending greetings on social media, they should organise social gatherings, and distribute gifts to their near and dear ones. Consequently, these steps can help to enhance kids' knowledge as well as relieve individuals from their work pressures. To conclude, although everyone is engaged due to their work pressure, they should not neglect their traditions and cultures. In addition, everyone has to remember the roots of our origin and the significance of these customs that were passed to us by our ancestors.