More and more plastics are polluting in world cities, countryside and oceans. What are the problems caused by plastic wastes? What measures should be taken to solve it?

It is true that an increasing number of contaminations triggered by plastic wastes are incurred in megapolises, rural areas and seas. This omnipresent phenomenon would have detrimental effects on the daily lives of every individual, and governments and society should make more effort to alleviate them. To start with, plastic waste would pose a severe threat to the environment. For instance, non-biodegradable wastes take hundreds of decades to decompose, leading to long-term infertility in soil which damages the productivity sustainability in the agricultural field. Subsequently, followed by the consequences of stagnated water resources, public health would not be adequately guaranteed. Furthermore, the water pollution would result in the aggravation of the shortage of medical treatments. Therefore, administrations need to reallocate the social resources and the opportunity cost would be increased accordingly. Controposing to the jeopardy above, there are several actions that governments can take to solve the problems mentioned above. Firstly, states and industries must prioritize the development of sustainable alternatives and promote the use of eco-friendly materials. Besides, governments should take action to raise social awareness and promote behavioural changes, educate individuals to understand the consequences of plastic rubbish and encourage responsible disposal and recycling habits. Additionally, the authorities should invest in infrastructure to facilitate a more effective waste management system, including more proper rubbish collection, sorting and recycling. Last but not least, incentives and regulations can be introduced to encourage businesses and consumers to adopt environmentally friendly practices. In conclusion, squanders and moral hazards are the main culprits behind the growing amount of rubbish, and actions should be taken along several fronts through environmental advocacy, eco-friendly materials and well-advanced recycling systems.