Some Governments say how many children a family can have in their country should be strictly controlled. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. Is It sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way? Do you agree or disagree with this policy?

Population explosion is causing severe concerns amongst the thought leaders of countries as it creates stress on the economy of the country. Leaders look at restricting this population spurge by making people financially responsible for their contribution to the growth in numbers. The essay below further helps elaborate my opinion. A population surge has a heavy impact on the economy and limits leaders from providing ample resources towards benefits which a common man should receive. Levying taxes would be one way of balancing the benefits and it would ensure that the growth of the country and the welfare of its people are met. China is a good example of such a policy where each family is limited to 2 offspring. Should they wish to have more, a hefty tax gets applied on the family thus ensuring that the economic balance is met. Another fair argument in favour of taxing families in relation to the number of offspring they have, could be that this ensures that the families have enough financial resources towards them. Should a family have numerous kids but not be able to support their basic needs, this would leave those adolescents without basic amenities such as food, healthcare and education. Implementing taxation, makes families think carefully about having children and prepares them financially going forward. The policy has many more benefits than those mentioned above. It is essential to be mindful of how we impact the economy and also make decisions based on financial stability. I, therefore, therefore agree with the policy.