Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

The core purpose of the research on a particular disease should be to get a cure for that instead of making money from that. There are many poor countries in the world that cannot afford better medication for their citizens because of the high prices. For the sake of humanity, it should be the drug companies' responsibility to make those medicines affordable by making them cheaper. There are numerous illnesses around the world, and because of the hard work and efforts by researchers, they have been able to develop their cure. It has always been a challenge for poor countries to get benefits from this research. The rich economies are pouring billions of dollars into getting cures for those diseases; it's obvious they will not give them for free. The poor countries are not financially stable enough to afford those high-priced drugs. According to a recent Bloomberg report, more than 30% of people in Africa are dying just because they cannot afford expensive medicines for curable diseases. Pharmaceutical companies are making billions in profit every year by overpricing medicines. Even with the subsidies provided by the government of poor countries, their residents cannot afford those medicines, as they are highly-priced. In addition, poor economies cannot even afford to manufacture those drugs locally as that would require a lot of initial investments. For instance, looking at the recent pandemic, once the vaccination of wealthy countries was completed after then only the poor countries were about to start dosing their populations. To recapitulate, poor economies lose their citizen's lives because of unaffordable medications, whereas drug companies should focus on reducing the price of their products. Pharma tycoons should also think about the poor people for the good cause of their health.