Governments should focus their spending on public services rather than on such music and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, inflation is at its peak. Countries all around the globe are releasing bailout plans to fight this battle and thus it is hard for the authorities to focus on other aspects of human needs. Some people believe that the government should only put emphasis on basic human rights during this adversity while others have the opinion that spending a budget on arts and culture is necessary as well. I will discuss both sides of view and will eventually give my stance later. Firstly, the pandemic hits the economy in the worst possible way. Therefore, it is hard for economists to work out and make policies focusing on extras like music, heritage and customs and are carefully honing the finances for the better. For instance, Srilanka went through the biggest financial crisis post Covid and is still thriving to pay debts. So it is clear from the above-mentioned facts that allocating the budget for cultural activities is currently not possible in any way and money should be saved for any calamity that can hit us in the future. Conversely, a bunch of the population thinks that in modern times, humans are already depressed and worn out because of the fast pacing and highly struggling life. Hence, it is the need of the hour that enrichment programs should be the centre of attention so that individuals can feel happy and relish. According to them, it is not a waste of money but a better idea to keep people motivated. For example, various statistical studies have shown in the past that happy nations always work harder for the state and have more chances of development in all aspects. Furthermore, these kinds of ventures create bonds of togetherness among different people In conclusion, keeping in view the points from both sides, it can be said that they are valid and justified in their own ways. I opine that these challenging and formidable times ask us to stay more inclined towards our survival, thus, it is the point where finances and basic needs should be the pinnacle for everyone. Once, we will be out of the difficult era, we can spend a large amount on arts and cultural heritage