Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there are over 1000 languages which are spoken all around the globe, and people have a variety of choices if they want to learn a new language for their general knowledge. In this essay, I will argue the benefits and consequences of speaking only one language. To begin with, speaking the same language as everybody around the globe might benefit a number of people, due to the fact that this method will help folks to understand each other much better. For example,when a person travels in a different country other than his and he or she needs help from other people with different nationality, most of the time they do not understand each other due to the lack of knowledge of the language, even though English is one of the most spoken languages, numerous people have difficulties to learn it. This way, speaking a universal language, where everybody can learn and understand it will help to reduce misunderstandings between people with different backgrounds. On the other hand, only learning one language, might disadvantage the people who adore expanding their vocabulary by learning a new language. For example, learning a new language helps you understand the culture and traditions of the country in which the language you are trying to learn, a plethora of people whose hobby is travelling, want to experience what it is like to travel somewhere where they can understand the stories the locals are telling them. In that case, learning various languages helps you improve your general knowledge about the nationalities from different corners of the world. In conclusion, both views of points have their advantages and disadvantages, however,speaking the same language as everybody, might destroy a country's culture, due to the fact that your country's language plays a significant role in the country's culture, nevertheless, spoken one language helps the society to communicate much better.