People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is commonly believed that people nowadays value materialistic possessions over familial connections or friendships. Wealth, properties, and power seem to be sought after by almost everyone, subsequently prioritizing them over loved ones. To a large extent, I agree with this statement, and the reasons will be thoroughly explored in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, dreaming of wealth and perfect health is never a shame. In fact, it is completely natural for humans to seek a luxurious lifestyle for themselves and their families. However, this seldom stops there, unfortunately. Greed is a sickness that even the richest of the rich suffer from. Thereafter, satisfaction is never reached, which causes humans to become insufferable to their partners, former housemates, and friends. There is a popular misconception that financial success is enough to bring in the other values in life, which is preposterous. The opposite is true, as the ones standing by your side will certainly feel neglected once you chase bags of cash. Ultimately, self-involved individuals are left lonely, and stacks of papers cannot cure loneliness. Indeed, the situation has gotten worse in the past decades, for numerous factors such as capitalism. The most selfish of humans are the most wealthy, ironically, as I stated previously. In addition to that, I believe the part of the world in which a person grew up matters as well. For instance, Arab and African families are extremely close to each other. Thus, they respect one another and never lose touch no matter what their financial status is. Conversely, I often notice how siblings in the west are quite distant. Hence, in a case where one sibling succeeds, they could simply cut off familial relations and live a separate life. On the other hand, it’s commonplace that an African sends money to their humble aunts and uncles monthly, which is undeniably heartfelt. What most do not realize, is that possessions can be lost in the blink of an eye. In the event of this happening, one will be left helpless. In conclusion, I believe that in some regions in the world, family is treasured. As a result, members are kept together. In other areas, sisters and brothers have almost no contact after moving out of their houses, especially once one achieves their economical goals. Be that as it may, this generation does not appreciate family enough.