The development of technology has resulted in more employees working from home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

At present, technological advancements and tools have been growing rapidly at an unprecedented rate supporting the global economy in many ways. As a result, flexible work arrangements are in place for employees to work from anywhere, anytime not compromising their productivity. So, I would like to discuss on the plethora of benefits of working from home. Firstly, the cutting –edge technological development and tools have helped the companies and industries to run even during the hardest hit endemic in 2020 due to the outbreak of coronavirus. For instance, Singapore companies and offices were operating from their respective houses in order for the economy to run. The government made sure there is a stable internet connectivity at houses too. As a result, many families were able to take care of their houses and feed their children despite of the unforeseen crisis. Secondly, work from home arrangements paved way for female employees to secure an opportunity to work as well as to take care of their young ones. Therefore, the female unemployment rate has dropped in many countries and this serves as a boost to the global economy. For instance, a significant number of teachers in Tamilnadu, India had tapped onto online platforms such as Google meet, zoom for conducting lessons. The female teachers in such schools were grateful for such arrangement, as they were able to teach their class students as well as their own children. To recapitulate, there are more benefits arising from technological advancement and the flexibility allows for creativity and increased productivity leading to a sustained positive growth in the economy and community.