Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, ather than to wor for a company or organisation. Why might be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Today, most people decide to work on their own than being employed by a company. This essay will explore the reasons and some of the drawbacks. As the world of business grows, many people are opening up businesses and working on their own. People choose to manage their companies for a number of reasons. First, it is believed being your own boss provides flexibility with work schedules. It is easy to decide when to start and finish work. People can also choose whether to work from home or go to the office. Sadly, this is not the case with big organisations where employees have to abide by the start time rules. For example, self-employed people can easily choose to begin work at 10 am without anyone expecting them to start early. Another reason is the peace of mind that comes with being your own boss. Owing a company allows people to do whatever they like without having to experience pressure from their employers. To illustrate, when someone owns a personal cleaning company they work at their own pace, and there is no one to monitor them while they carry out their duties. Therefore, most people prefer self-employment to be employed because of flexibility and peace of mind. However, working on your own presents challenges such as a lack of support from work colleagues. Working in organisations allows people to receive emotional and intellectual support from other staff members. In contrast, self-employment limits the support due to not having any other staff. Additionally, running a business means doing more, there is no shared workload as compared to working in a company. An example of this is a person owning a vending machine business. This person has to carry out the duties required to successfully run the business without help from others. Hence, businessmen have to deal with the challenges of lack of support and a busy life. To sum up, people choose to work on their own because of flexibility and peace of mind. However, this leads to setbacks such as lack of support and high workloads.