People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Studies show consumers of different age brackets have certain characteristics in their spending habits, but besides this, from my perspective, there are other contributors that influence consumption behaviours as well.  For those in their teens or twenties, they are more generous in spending than their parents and grandparents. A large portion of their income is spent on stylish clothes, fancy electronic gadgets and entertainment, as the young prefer to pursue fashion and enjoyment in life. By contrast, middle-aged consumers are more price-conscious, and their income is mainly allocated to household expenditure and children’s education. As growing old, particularly after retirement, they may become conservative in consumption, but they may focus on healthcare products that help them stay healthy.  Apart from different times of life, we should also take other contributors into consideration when it comes to the way they form shopping habits. Chief among these is financial conditions. The wealthy, whether they are young or old, tend to buy high-quality products, or luxury items, with less consideration for price. In comparison, low-income earners can only shop for daily necessities and discounted goods. Furthermore, gender also contributes largely to consumer behaviours. For example, males tend to spend less time on final decisions, whereas females are more likely to compare more factors, such as price, brand, etc., before making up their minds. In addition, men enjoy investing money in automobiles, electronic gadgets and so on, while women pay more attention to cosmetics, and fashion clothes, to name but a few.   In conclusion, although age plays a crucial role in forming the habit of consumption, there are a multitude of contributors also playing parts respectively.