Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

Nowadays, many are of the belief that environmental issues have become a global dilemma due to the government’s lack of severe punishments for wrongdoers. In my opinion, even though the authorities are somewhat responsible for this problem, I believe that the public is also at fault, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, it is true that governments have failed to pay adequate attention to guiding the citizens toward protecting the environment. For instance, despite numerous attempts to reduce litterings such as through propaganda or fines and community services, they still cannot stop people from irresponsibly dumping garbage in the streets, which not only harms the environment but also negatively affect public hygiene. On a wider scale, countless poaching activities and factories’ illegal discharge of industrial waste are still happening, regardless of the fact that many of them have been caught and punished by government forces to set examples for society. As a consequence, environmental offenders are taking the authorities’ regulations for granted and the destruction continues to rise more seriously. On the other hand, law enforcement from the governments would not have a significant impact without the obedience of the general public. This may stem from the lack of acknowledgement that the globe is on the brink of being inhabitable, and the objective thought that one’s wrongdoing will not have a massive influence on the Earth anyway. In addition, it may also be the majority of people’s inability to turn to a sustainable lifestyle since it is too expensive. To illustrate, knowing that commuting in electric vehicles can greatly help to prevent air pollution, many still opt for traditional gasoline ones because they are more affordable and easier to repair. Another example is people know that goods from sustainable materials such as wood, and bamboo are environmentally friendly, but the high price tags make them more eager to consume those from plastic which are cheaper and familiar to them. In conclusion, although it is true that governments have revealed shortcomings in punishing the environmental wrongdoers severely, I also think that the mass holds accountable for the concerning environmental issues.