The amount of time spent on traveling to work has significantly increased in the past few decades. Discuss the causes and effects of this situation, and provide possible solutions.

In recent years, there is a dramatic increase in the time that people have spent travelling to work. This essay will look at some primary causes of this trend and its effects and offer several feasible solutions to the problems. The main reason for the increase in time -commuting is the high price of accommodations in the city centres, therefore, many people are unable to buy a house in those locations where their companies are located. As a consequence, they have to find a house or an apartment in distant places or in the suburbs which lead to a longer distance from their home to their workplace and the time for travelling also rises. By increasing the amount of time on travelling causes various negative effects on people's lives and the environment. This is because workers have to spend more time driving cars, motorbikes or sitting in buses, or trains. That amount of time is wasted instead of doing other activities such as reading books or learning more things. Moreover, a longer distance from their place to work causes more emissions from transportation that directly contribute to air pollution and global warming. However, there are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problems mentioned above. Firstly, it is necessary for the government to relocate companies and businesses to rural or suburban areas. People can have more chances to buy or rent a house or room at a reasonable price, therefore, the travel time to work will be reduced. Secondly, more money should be invested in transport infrastructure to enhance public transport systems that encourage travellers to use them, as the increase in public transport would reduce exhaust fumes from private vehicles and help in the effort to protect our environment. In conclusion, although travel time between home and workplace has risen in recent decades causing several problems for individuals and the environment, the government should take actions to tackle these issues.