Too much money is spent in maintaining and repairing old buildings. Some people think that they should be knocked down and give way to the modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The preservation of ancient buildings requires a large amount of government budget. While some claim this money should be allocated to build new shelters and maintain roads. In my view, we should pay attention to satisfy the growing basic needs such as infrastructure and sanitation, but it is also important to keep some old structures that store history and past memories. On the one hand, It is true that the demand for new places of residence is on the rise with the rapid increase in urban population. Driven by immigration into metropolises, downtown areas are becoming more crowded than ever, so we should build skyscrapers to accommodate more populations and provide better facilities, instead of maintaining or repairing dilapidated houses. To mitigate the repercussions of lacking living space in crowded cities, the government needs to subsidize more public housing. Besides, many houses built in the past are unable to keep pace with current demands, such as tap water, sewage system, etc., which poses a risk to residents' well-being. As a result, some old structures should be replaced by new ones. However, this does not mean that the role of restoring old houses is any less important.It is widely acknowledged that many of them are protected today because they are culturally valuable to a nation. Like a native language, many historical structures form a cultural identity and keep a unique record of a country, so they possess significant value to research into the past and play a crucial part in the education of future generations. Moreover, old buildings, if preserved and utilized properly, could actually contribute to economic development by boosting the tourist industry. For example, Westminster Abbey in London and the Forbidden City in Beijing, as city and national landmarks, attract a large number of tourists every year, bringing in huge revenue for the country. In conclusion, the protection of old buildings plays a crucial role in reflecting history and creating values in modern life. Although the government should invest in modern accommodations to meet basic needs, the funds reserved for ancient architecture should not be compromised.