In some countries, more people choose to live by themselves in recent years. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development for society

Nowadays, an increasing number of dwellers live alone far away from their families. In my opinion, while this trend does have some benefits, it has an equal number of downsides. The rise in single-occupant households can be beneficial from both personal and economic perspectives. When living alone, they learn to manage their household and professional workload at the same time, thus becoming more self-reliant. For example, They have to cook food, wash clothes and do all other household chores along with pursuing a job or studies. Inhabitants who are willing to live alone in large cities can explore better job opportunities, which is simply because they can move around anywhere and anytime. Living alone is also cost-effective, especially in large cities where the cost of living is high. Despite the aforementioned advantages, there are drawbacks in equal proportion. Of particular concern is the fact that living alone is detrimental to mental /emotional health. People sometimes need to be surrounded by their near and dear ones to feel happiness. If they are alone, they will invariably feel a vacuum. Also, if they fall ill, they have no one to take care of them. Those who live alone are also more likely to get into bad company because there is no one to keep a tab on their activities and admonish them when they tread the wrong path. In conclusion, although there are certain merits associated with staying apart from families it is not beneficial for the emotional wellbeing of us. If possible, we should try to live with our families when moving to other cities in search of jobs.