Some people think that a person improves intellectual skills better when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

There is a widespread view that team working can help develop intelligence to a greater extent compared to a sole task completion. In my opinion, frequent communication exposes people to more competitive environments and knowledge, which contribute greatly to their intelligence. The less compelling side of the argument, in my opinion, is that completing tasks alone on your own allows you to use more of your brain capacity. I reckon that being involved into complex problem-solving without any external assistance definitely helps individuals develop more of an independent approach towards certain challenges. This, in turn, allows people to come up with original solutions, which can help increase fluid intelligence in the long-term. However, I believe it is important to take into account the fact that being exposed to multiple concepts while working in a group can help generate new ideas more quickly. Therefore, working collaboratively allows people to adopt new ways of thinking, which they can then use when working on tasks of their own. For instance, a team of researchers from Stanford has found that constant collaboration tends to increase the volume of grey matter in the brain, the liquid that is responsible for rational thinking and consequently, intelligence. This is why I think that this side of the argument is more convincing as it provides us with clear scientific evidence for why team effort tends to boost intelligence more. To conclude, despite the fact that working alone can help people to come up with their own ideas, which they are more likely to understand, being involved in a task that requires team effort allows for an increased exposure to novel information and principles. This, in my opinion, is the most decisive factor that develops intellectual capabilities.