While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment, others believe that the deforestation has more devastating impact to our world.

Nowadays, many believe that global warming is currently the most alarming environmental issue. Others, however, argue that the effects of deforestation are much more severe. This essay will discuss both views before coming to the conclusion that both of these phenomena are posing a huge threat to all living beings on Earth. On the one hand, global warming is very concerning because it messes up the weather cycle. To be more specific, due to the rise in average temperature, the Earth undergoes a change in precipitation, which results in radical changes in weather patterns. To illustrate, extreme nature phenomena such as storms, heatwaves and droughts are happening more frequently than ever before, making human lives harder and harder. In addition, global warming also harms the ecology. Indeed, many species have either died out or had to change their habitats and behaviours to cope with the changes in biomes, leading to massive distortions and nature imbalances. For instance, many animals at the south pole had to travel to the north pole for cooler temperatures, as staying in their natural habitats will make them inhabitable. As a consequence, global warming cause not only catastrophic damage to the natural cycles but also to the lives of millions of animals and humans On the other hand, forestation also harms our world significantly. Firstly, the perish of forests can lead to a considerable reduction in air quality, which is because trees help refresh the air by absorbing carbon dioxide and releasing oxygen. Another effect of desertification is soil erosion and flooding. In mountainous areas, forests not only help the soil connect together, but they also absorb the water from rain to curtail risks of it turning into typhoons. Therefore, with the cut down of forests, it is likely that such adverse phenomena will occur more often, causing unimaginable losses and casualties. Finally, deforestation may raise the Earth’s temperature. This is because trees give shade whilst absorbing the heat from the sun, which helps cool the lands and allows more wind to come by. With the lack of forests, not only will the grounds directly receive the sun's rays, but the heat will be trapped there and take longer to cool compared to when they are covered with trees lands. In conclusion, I believe that both global warming and deforestation are dangerous to the Earth because it destroys natural ecology, causing damage to humans and animals, as well as distorting weather patterns.