Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Paying a visit to museums and art galleries is a good way for visitors to learn art, culture, history, etc. Some people argue that, for these facilities, collections and exhibitions should always focus on local artworks and objects instead of those from foreign countries. I agree with this opinion. Firstly, displaying local cultural relics can promote cultural identity. In a globalized era, many people, particularly youngsters, are fascinated by foreign civilisations, with little knowledge about the history and customs of their own communities and countries. This situation can be improved if residents are encouraged to visit the museum and gallery to learn more about exotic cultures. The local objects on display would make them reflect on their past, values and ethos, and give them a sense of belonging to the community and the nation. For another, maintaining national characteristics plays a crucial role in attracting foreign visitors. Museums and galleries are frequently visited by tourists for sightseeing. For example, what these tourists expect to see are paintings, craftworks and objects that reflect local people’s history, customs and lifestyles. Imagine how disappointing it would be if tourists from the US travelled to Japan, who are keen to explore the unique historical antiques, but when they walk over there, what they could see is an exhibition that introduces the American civil war. On the other hand, some may argue that showing exhibits from other civilisations gives local residents exposure to foreign cultures and develops their global visions. This viewpoint is reasonable to some extent, and exhibitions about foreign cultures can be held occasionally. However, these events should not impair the main purposes of those places, where they aim to showcase and promote the national image and identity. To conclude, despite some merits of exhibiting items abroad, I think indigenous collections should always be prioritized in local exhibitions.