Many people prefer to use public transportation while others say that personal cars are the best mode of transportation. Excessive use of private cars is considered to be the main reason for the traffic jam in many cities and that's why the use of public transportation is encouraged. In your opinion what are the pros and cons of using public transport?

Over recent years, public transport has become increasingly popular. One of the main benefits is that it reduces air pollution and thus, slows down global warming. However, there are problems associated with it. The following paragraphs will analyze the merits and demerits of public transportation. To commence with the positive sides of public transport, first and foremost, it is more environmentally friendly compared to private vehicles. Take trains or buses as an example. One bus can cater for around 30 to 50 people, which might dramatically reduce the number of vehicles circulating on the roads, thus, reducing the amount of gas emissions into the atmosphere. As a result, if more and more people used public transportation, the air quality in cities would be better. Additionally, road congestion might be lessened, which in turn will free individuals from anger and anxiety getting stuck in traffic. Furthermore, it is also economically efficient. Individuals using buses or trains don't have to bear expenses for car maintenance, purchasing fuels or road fare, etc. On the downside, during rush hours, public transport is rather inconvenient. Commuting to work every day on an overcrowded bus or subway train is probably not a pleasant experience. Moreover, even in developed cities, bus schedules are normally unreliable. Therefore, while waiting for buses to their workplaces or educational institutions, people could feel stressed and exhausted. To conclude, public transport can sometimes be inefficient and tiring. Yet, it brings a great number of advantages to individuals, the economy, and the environment. Overall, I believe that the merits outweigh the demerits.