Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Health issues such as obesity, heart failure, and diabetes can result from consuming processed foods and beverages, as these items have excessive sugar. Consequently, to lower people's sugar consumption rate, it is stated that the government should levy higher tariffs on sugar -added consumables. I concur with this statement because making these items costly will demotivate consumers from purchasing them and motivate them to buy nutritious food. Firstly, if sweetened products became high in cost, consumers would not consider buying them. They will hesitate to spend extra money on sugary items. Moreover, many people will not be able to afford the expense of getting these types of products. As a result, the consumption rate of these items will decrease. For instance, when governments imposed higher taxes on cigarettes and tobacco items, many smokers quit smoking as they could not bear that much cash for a pack of cigarettes. Hence, selling sugar -added products at a higher price will discourage the public from buying them; thus, sugar consumption will decline. Additionally, customers will divert to healthier solid and liquid foods when people notice that these sugary foods are costly as well as unhealthy. In contrast, healthy consumables like fruits, nuts, vegetables, and electrolyte drinks are affordable; people will never buy sugary items at the expense of their wealth and well-being. For instance, If a person goes to a shop and finds that a chocolate bar is as expensive or higher than an apple, that person will consider having an apple instead of an unhealthy chocolate bar. Therefore, if products that contain extreme levels of sweetener cost a fortune, there will be a massive diversion of sales to healthy products. In conclusion, sugar consumption is increasing rapidly as many processed food items have high sugar, resulting in many health-related diseases. I agree that the price of sugary items should increase because this action will influence people to avoid sweet products and drive them to convert their unhealthy eating habits to healthy ones.