Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development.

There is no gainsaying the fact that migration is happening from rural places to urban places due to many reasons. Although there are a wide array of reasons which build this tribulation, I consider that it has a destructive development. To commence with, there are a plethora of factors why this problem is booming enormously day by day. The most significant reason is that urban areas have better educational systems. That is to say, urban cities usually have a lot of private schools nevertheless, they have teachers who hold good degrees in their field and have many years of experience in teaching. Consequently, they provide good surroundings for children to study as well as to groom. Another worth considering reason is that these cities are growing day by day in every aspect, thus offering innumerable jobs in almost every field. Elate Mall in Chandigarh, for example, which was opened in 2021 was north India’s biggest mall and its opening provided job opportunities to more than 8000 people. As a result, numerous people travelled from rural areas to cities looking for livelihoods. Despite all the reasons, I believe it is not ameliorating. There are a multitude of reasons why it is a shortcoming scenario. First and foremost is that the when younger generation travels to cities from their homes, they leave their families behind. Even though they earn good education and job they forget their roots and their parents, due to which their parents are left alone and are not looked after. Because of this their parents get sick and die at early age. Espanola a small town in north Ontario for instance, comprises 80% elderly people who are always in need of personal caretakers as their kids have left them alone and have moved to the cities for their jobs. The above reason supports why it is considered negative development. To conclude, there are numerous reasons and optimistic effects of this phenomenon of migration from rural areas to urban, but it has negative effects as well, which cannot be ignored.