Many wrongdoers commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Punishment is necessary to prevent the country from crime and wrongdoings. It is true that after getting the first punishment for a crime, criminals do more unlawful acts. Small penalties and minor punishment are the reasons for this menace. Hard punishment and huge fines should be mandatory to tackle this problem. Many individuals get meagre amounts of money for fines to pay to release from offence which they pay easily and then free from lockup. Then they again do the same thing and pay for that like last time and in this way it continuous regularly. For instance, in many countries, those crossing the red signal have a fine in the form of money which they pay easily and then again they broke the law and that could lead to an accident. Moreover, less sentence period for a violation causes less fear among people and owing to this, they do that again and again, which increases crime rates. To exemplify, in many developing countries, stealing goods have only 6 months sentence period and after that thieves continuously do this offence. There are numerous measures which can help to deal with this problem. For heinous crimes, the government should give them hard punishment such as a life serving sentence or the death penalty, so, they won't repeat this act again. For example, for harming or killing someone, there should be a death sentence so this will stop by setting an example for others. Furthermore, a big amount of money should be charged for breaking any law such as crossing red signals or pickpocketing. By doing this, criminals won't be able to pay the fine. Thus, these measures can help in reducing crimeto a great extent. To sum up, it is true that small fines and the least punishment and many more are the causes of increasing offence, however, taking strict measures by the government such as huge prices in the form of fines and hard punishment can help to deal with these problems.