The use of social media, such as Facebook, Instagram is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, the development of technology become faster which led to the increase of social media sign-up around the world. While people talk to each other through social media more than real conversation, I believe that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks. In the globalization world, many people tend to stay abroad or migrate to other countries, Social media platforms such as Facebook and Messager help them keep in touch through long distances with their family and friends. To illustrate, exchange students can Facetime and send pictures to their parents every day. As a result, these types of platforms make conversation faster and more convenient compared to other traditional ways of connecting, such as writing letters. Moreover, these technologies allow people to exchange information and data broader. As a consequence, a lot of public and private companies allow people to have more flexible working hours and can work from anywhere because they can use social media platforms to communicate with teams and clients. For example, big agency companies use Google Chat and Zoom to communicate with their client as the main platform, so employees can arrange a meeting online, which can reduce the cost of transportation and increase work productivity. However, all social media cannot be replaced by physical interaction and face-to-face conversation because technology gives a different sense of connection To clarify, a human being still needs physical touch to make them feel lively and trustworthy, like hugging, handshaking or kissing which social media can not provide. To conclude, social media platforms can bring numerous benefits to human life, but they cannot replace physical interaction anytime soon.