Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Incremental sales of familiar consumer product point towards the strength of advertising rather than the actual requirement of society. This essay completely agrees with the statement because people became more materialistic and influenced by the cine actors lifestyle which makes people buy things that are not needed. The reason for the spike in sales of goods is that people became more materialistic than ever.humans started to think that is normal to have low-cost dresses and that things were considered poor. This kind of people were targeted by the advertising agencies.To the fact, these agents do not care about our needs all they want is to sell in order to earn a lot of money by making them see their ads everywhere they go by distributing pamphlets,letters posts,billboards etc. For example, Ikea announced a price discount through posts which resulted in a flock of people were gathered outside the showroom. Another reason for generating more revenue is that they promote their product with celebrities which makes people go crazy. posting videos and pics of cine actors' lifestyles tends to create more impact which leads people to buy the same product irrespective of what they need. For instance, a shoe brand had a contract with a famous basketball player where fans went mad to buy those resulted hike in price the profit was $400 million. In conclusion, humans are attracted to unrealistic things which is an effect of movies and become more obsessed with materials therefore I believe that advertisements play a major role in consumer goods.