Government investment in the arts, such as music and theater, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some believe that instead of spending money on the arts, government authorities should invest their funds in developing public services. I completely disagree with the aforementioned statement since preserving and promoting art is equally crucial as investing in basic public services for certain reasons. Firstly, engaging in creative work should not be considered squandering money on frivolous things. These activities have been part of human nature since ancient times when our ancestors used them as a way of expressing themselves and their feelings. It cannot be denied the therapeutic effects of works of art on people's mental health. It can be considered one of the most effective methods to relax, because, people get an opportunity to distract themselves from the stressful environment they live in and delve deep into the art. For example, listening to music is the most rudimentary need of humans, since it assists them to unwind and restore their energies. In addition, by encouraging individuals to improve their creative skills and abilities, governments can discover new talents who can present their countries on an international level and attract more tourists' attention. Hence, the country gradually turns into a source of art and inspiration that many people strive to visit. Secondly, by releasing some portions of funds to the field of art, authorities can earn a lot of money and reputation as well. There are so many countries in the world that are renowned for hosting the masterpieces such as "The Mona Lisa", "The Starry Night", and so on. These factors help those countries foster their economic conditions as well, by encouraging many people to visit and spend money on services. In addition, tourists do not hesitate to splash out money on expensive pieces in order to have a long-lasting memory of that place. Furthermore, the torrent of travelers stimulates locals to improve the provided service levels and erect new buildings such as hotels, and shopping malls to meet the requests of tourists. This tendency will be beneficial for the local population as well since it creates more job opportunities. To conclude, although some people consider works of art as frivolous items to spend money on, I believe that governments should allocate some funds to protect and encourage artists to engage in those activities since they can be a cure for mental health and bring a lot of money to the country.