Some people think government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Science plays a crucial role in the economic growth and social progress of a country. However, other aspects such as business, sports etc., also make contributions to our society. Therefore, I believe that it is better to offer equal financial support for all subjects. Scientific education is definitely helpful to the world, which cannot only help to solve many problems affecting us and our environment but unleash potential opportunities. For example, the discoveries of vaccines make humans immune to many lethal diseases as well as create wealth and employment. Therefore, sufficient funds for science will lead to improvement in medical research and the invention of many cures. In addition, scientific research in agriculture can increase the fertility of the land and result in social security and stability. Without enough food supply, the country would be more likely to end up with chaos and violence, posing threats to all citizens. However, this does not mean that scientific advancement is the only factor worth investing in from the government. Other subjects like arts, crafts, literature and humanities contribute to the nation as well which makes people feel fulfilled and satisfied about their life, after all, scientific developments cannot meet all our demands and desires of us. Not only can they improve our living standards but broaden our horizons. Furthermore, those studies provide plenty of opportunities too, covering from the creation of value to diversity of lifestyles. To conclude, the public fund should not be spent wisely which means that the scientific field is not the only one worth investing in. To build a harmonious society, all aspects should be taken into consideration.