In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvanatges of giving children this message.

In numerous cultures, young people are often encouraged by adults that they can achieve something if they try to make optimum effort. This essay will elaborate the benefits and drawbacks of providing children this view. On the one hand, there are a couple of advantages about providing hard work value to the children. Firstly, children may not give up easily when they face obstacles by remembering that one day they will achieve anything as long as they try hard enough. For instance, children will prepare for school exams optimally despite the difficulties when they want to get a good grade in their school. Secondly, children ’s confidence is also boost when they sure that they will achieve everything they want as long as they put all of their effort to their goals. On the other hand, possible disadvantages should be considered when adults giving aforementioned message. Young people may feel depressed when they face some failures after lots of efforts they do. Mental capacity of every child is different, thus it is not fair to instill the same perspective to all children. Moreover, children may not believe there are other factors that will role in every results, such as a destiny, the environment, an opportunity. Those factors cannot be control by them. Therefore, it is not good choice to cultivate a hard value without considering other factors that children cannot change. To sum up, advantages and disadvanatges should be considerd when talking about cultivating a perspective to young individuals that they can achieve something if they make maximum efforts. The positives are children gain confidence and do not give up easily, while negative points are they fell depressed after facing failures and they will not believe in unchanged factors.