An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people are choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

Given the increasing number of cosmetic surgeries over the world, the question of why people are gravitating toward changing their physical appearance has been a topic of interest. This essay will shed light on some justifiable reasons that could be attributed to this tendency before ultimately concluding that this is neither wholly positive nor negative. On one hand, social pressure would be the driving force behind a large number of cosmetic surgeons. To be specific, from the East to the West, each culture has different beauty standards which have been having far-reaching effects on the way humans perceive what is true beauty. For instance, in some Asian countries, V-line jaw shapes are considered to be beautiful. Therefore, not having this feature would be judged as ugliness. As a result, a host of people, especially women, have poured a huge amount of money into beauty surgeons annually to achieve this irrational beauty standard. It is worth noting that this trend could render health problems for those undergoing this kind of surgery. In fact, there are numerous fatal cases prompted by uncensored hospitals. On the other hand, another valid reason would be gender incongruence. It is apparent that many people have been enduring persistent experiences of incompatibility between a person's gender identity and the gender expected based on sex at birth. Hence, cosmetic surgeries would be viable solutions for them to become their true selves. In effect, in some Middle East countries, namely Iran, transgender are even given financial support from the government to conduct cosmetic surgeries in order to fulfil their desires to live in their desired bodies. In conclusion, I believe pressure from the outside and psychological factors would contribute to the escalating numbers of physically changing surgeons. While it is irrefutable that this trend is negative to some extent, I would contend that the positive side of this sort of surgery should not be ignored.